Government Reports on ME/CFS

Government reports on ME/CFS from the world's leading medical and research agencies.

World Health Organisation (WHO)

Myalgic encephalomyelitis (ME) has been recognised by WHO as a neurological disease since 1969.
Both the current ICD-10 and the pending ICD-11 retain this classification.

2019 - National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)

The ME/CFS Advisory Committee Report to the NHMRC Chief Executive Officer (30 April 2019) recommends the use of the Canadian Consensus Criteria (CCC), International Consensus Criteria (ICC) and the Paediatric Primer.

Australian clinical guidance has historically relied on the CCC. The ICC allows earlier diagnosis. The Paediatric Primer is designed to assist in diagnosis and management of young people.

The Summary of Recommendations can be found on page vi of the Report.

2015 - Institute of Medicine (IOM), US

Beyond Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome: Redefining an illness (2015)

The IOM is now known as the National Academies of Medicine (NAM).

Highlights from the report have been presented in slides.

2014 - National Institutes of Health (NIH), US

Pathways to Prevention (P2P)

Final Report

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), UK

NICE guidelines are presently being reviewed. Draft guidelines have been published.
Expected publication of the final report was to be 21 April 2021. It was rescheduled to be published on 18 August 2021.

On 17 August, NICE took the decision to pause publication of its updated guideline.

Last edited: 19 August, 2021